The Portrait in Red Chalk

Dan Thompson’s red chalk portraits caught my attention due to their painterly nature and dry drawing materials. As someone who doesn’t always have time to break out oils, this technique lends itself to the expressive marks that brush and oil paint yield. Below are some pictures from his red chalk demo I attended at Studio Incamminati earlier this year.

If you’re interested my notes and some gems that Dan shared while executing this drawing (let me know in the comments), I’m happy to share! Dan holds this workshop (and others) in venues across the country. Visit his website for information http://danthompsonart.com. #art #drawing #teachingartist

Save

2 thoughts on “The Portrait in Red Chalk

    • Dan used a blue watercolor wash. Because he started with a toned background it made it easier to build the lights with white. Any color can work, as long as it’s not too dark and the paper is heavy enough to hold the watercolor.

Leave a comment